What's Up Jacksonville WhatsUpJacksonville.com
PPhotography by MichaelG.org LLC

Florida Commission on the Status of Women Welcomes New Officers

March 15th, 2022 · Leave a Comment

Florida Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis administered the oath of office to six new officers of the Florida Commission on the Status of Women in a special ceremony in Tallahassee. The FCSW is a non-partisan state government commission dedicated to improving the well-being of Florida women and girls, through collaboration, education, and celebration.

Sophia Eccleston of Wellington takes the helm as the 2022 Chair of the Commission. Commissioner Eccleston, a U.S. Army Veteran, currently works as a senior external affairs manager at Florida Power & Light Company in Juno Beach, Fla. She was appointed to the FCSW in 2018 by Florida’s Chief Financial Officer, Jimmy Patronis. Commissioner Eccleston has chaired the Public Policy Committee for the Commission, and previously held roles as treasurer and vice chair.

The other officers elected for 2022 are: Commissioner Lori Day of St. Johns – Vice Chair, Commissioner Rosie Paulsen of Zephyrhills – Secretary, Commissioner Rita Barreto of Palm Beach Gardens – Treasurer, Commissioner Rachel Saunders Plakon – Member at Large, and Commissioner Jenna Persons-Mulicka – Member at Large.

The event featured Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody who recognized Women’s History Month by presenting a signed Florida Cabinet resolution to the Commission on behalf of the entire Florida Cabinet, as well as an address from Florida Secretary of State Laurel M. Lee.

There are 22 members that serve on the Commission, which is administratively housed in the Office of the Attorney General.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to LinkedIn

Tags: · · · · · · · · ·